Ancient Chinese Cities


Ancient Chinese Cities




Previously called Changan, Xian was a cultural center along the Silk Road and the capital for 12 dynasties including the Zhou, Qin, Western Han, Sui and Tang dynasties.

It is also the resting places of many Chinese emperors, including the grand mausoleum of Emperor Qin of the Qin Dynasty.




Chengdu has been a government administrative center since ancient times. It was the capital of Liu Beis Shu kingdom during the Three Kingdoms period, as well as the capital of Sichuan since the Yuan Dynasty. Also a major commercial center, Chengdu marks the beginning of the southern Silk Road route.




Mentioned as early as 400BC, Suzhou was for a time the capital of Wu state during the Warring States period. It flourished as a trading and silk-producing center in the early 6th century, linked to other parts of China through the Grand Canal. Suzhou was a key cultural center during the Ming and Qing dynasties.




Nanjing began as two Ancient Chinese Cities built during the Warring States period and was the site of a military fortress built by Sun Quan of Wu kingdom during the period of the Three Kingdoms. Home to some ten dynastic regimes, Nanjing became a key ancient cultural center when scholars and craftsmen fled here from invading northern nomads after the Western Jin Dynasty fell.




Built in 486BC during the spring and autumn period, Yangzhou was a political and military base during the Eastern Han Dynasty. It also served as an important harbor and commercial node since antiquity, distributing key resources such as salt, iron, and grain to the surrounding regions.




The ancient city of Luoyang has a history of more than 5,000 years. It served as the capital for some 96 emperors in 13 dynasties, including the Shang, Zhou, Han, Sui, and Tang dynasties.




Heavily fought over during the spring and autumn and Warring States periods, its name was given during the Sui Dynasty and was the capital of the Southern Song Dynasty. Marco Polo visited this strategic city during the Yuan Dynasty.




This key military and trading center was fought over and conquered by the Jurchen Jin and the Mongolians, who named it Zhongdu and Dadu respectively. It later became the capital of the Ming Dynasty and renamed Beijing. Home of the Forbidden Palace, Beijing was also the center of power during the Qing Dynasty and still is today